Why Nigo and Fujiwara were never really “real designers” (Syndicate vs Stuci)

Screenshot_52.png

Nigo creative directed his own shit, he didn’t design any of those graphics of draw any of that shit himself. That’s where the real work was done. I’d like you to prove now that he actually did design his own shit, Sk8thing is my evidence, where the fuck is yours?

Creative directors typically guide the junior designers in submitting and curating what the collection will be. Legitimate creative directors working at the fashion house level were typically designers originally, then graduated up and are then credible enough to guide the juniors. That is not the case for Nigo or Fujiwara.

Nigo and Bobby Hundreds are just two dudes who subcontracted designers and never climbed that ladder themselves. They were never real designers. They never did fucking runway or even drew their own shit past their first draft shitty logo. If you consider that being a “real designer” you don’t know shit about this industry.

I don’t care if either of them are praised in the industry, so is Kanye, and nobody is willing to call him a “real designer”. Fujiwara is only a god because he was a solid tasteful businessman who paved roads for guys like Nigo not because he was the McQueen of Japan.

The drop is okay, Fujiwara was honestly never a good designer, he’s a good fashion entrepreneur though. Same with Nigo, they’re just hustlers not the real designers.

And where the fuck is the BDSM salamander from the first release photos?

Saying that two people who have had such a huge influence in the fashion industry are not real designers is laughable.

Sk8thing was the best designer out of all 3 of them, when the last time Fujiwara or Nigo helmed their own fashion show.

I am not talking about who was the best nor when was the last time they helmed their own fashion show. I am simply stating the fact that calling them “not real designers” is laughable.

Considering Nigo didn’t even design his own shit, and Fujiwara just creative directs for other brands. I stand by my statement. That’s my bar for a “real” respectable designer, not dudes who just slap logos on shit. Jun was a real designer, the rest of them are just logo slappers and brand owners. If you consider that to be real design then that’s on you.

Would you mind providing me with any proof of Nigo not designing anything? You know that creative directors happen to design shit, right?

Would you like me to email you a slew of links of interviews with Sk8thng and the rest of his design team that created the visuals and graphics for the entire Bape line, for years? Picking out which graphics to throw on a t-shirt does not make you a “real designer”. That’s like calling Bobby Hundreds a “real designer”. He’s shit at his job too that’s why he subcontracts new designers every 6 months. Same with the current Bape, and Uniqlo with Nigo.

There is a huge difference between being a creative director and an actual frontline designer, moron. Fujiwara and Nigo are creative directors at best, and not “real designers”. Thank you for proving my point.

Still waiting for the proof that Nigo hasn’t designed ANYTHING. A couple of interviews with Sk8thing and his design team is far from sufficient to back up such a bold statement.

Creative directors COULD BE actual frontline designers, moron. Again, these two have been praised in the fashion industry. Fujiwara is frequently called a God of the streetwear. But sure. They aren’t real designers.

Nigo creative directed his own shit, he didn’t design any of those graphics of draw any of that shit himself. That’s where the real work was done. I’d like you to prove now that he actually did design his own shit, Sk8thing is my evidence, where the fuck is yours?

Creative directors typically guide the junior designers in submitting and curating what the collection will be. Legitimate creative directors working at the fashion house level were typically designers originally, then graduated up and are then credible enough to guide the juniors. That is not the case for Nigo or Fujiwara.

Nigo and Bobby Hundreds are just two dudes who subcontracted designers and never climbed that ladder themselves. They were never real designers. They never did fucking runway or even drew their own shit past their first draft shitty logo. If you consider that being a “real designer” you don’t know shit about this industry.

I don’t care if either of them are praised in the industry, so is Kanye, and nobody is willing to call him a “real designer”. Fujiwara is only a god because he was a solid tasteful businessman who paved roads for guys like Nigo not because he was the McQueen of Japan.

“I’d like you to prove now that he actually did design his own shit, Sk8thing is my evidence, where the fuck is yours?”

Evidence? You wrote that Nigo did not design his own shit and your “evidence” is a few interviews with Sk8thing about him designing for Bape over the years. Are you really THAT stupid?

“Creative directors typically guide the junior designers in submitting and curating what the collection will be. Legitimate creative directors working at the fashion house level were typically designers originally, then graduated up and are then credible enough to guide the juniors.”

Typically… Well, I guess Hiroshi is not your typical creative director. Legitimate… According to who? You? Who are you? Raf?

“They never did fucking runway or even drew their own shit past their first draft shitty logo.”

Seem like you have reading comprehension issues. I never mentioned anything about runway shows, only that you calling them not real designers is absurd. And I don’t know why you keep bringing Bobby Hundreds in the conversation.

“I don’t care if either of them are praised in the industry, so is Kanye, and nobody is willing to call him a “real designer”.”

Kanye is praised for his style, not his designs per se. Nobody calling him a real designer does not mean that nobody is calling Nigo and Fujiwara real designers as well.

Lol so you got some actual evidence or what other than just denying that? Go read his interview with Interview mag, complex, and show studio. There’s 3 interviews, go read them then go return me some evidence back before saying I’m wrong about this shit. You want evidence based arguments? I got 3 sources, you got zero currently. Also, watch his documentary where he has a giant fucking team of people painting his graphics and drawing for him and he’s literally just standing there doing jack shit. Some designer huh. Go give me counter-evidence bro.

Who am I? Irrelevant as usual but I’ve worked inside some of these companies so I know the difference between an actual creative director and somebody who pounds out designs for a living Who the fuck are you again? You’re always too ashamed to say when speaking to me.

You must have a really shitty definition of what a real designer is if it doesn’t involve doing real collections and designing more than a logo, clearly. I graduated from a top 20 global university with honours I do not any issues reading shit from some teenage forum troll.

Industry praise has no correlation with being a real designer and that is my point since day one. I don’t give a fuck how much praise they got, that doesn’t change their job title.

Dude do you even know shit about this industry? For somebody who argues so much you sound so ignorant. And you argue in a non-linear fashion then accuse others of having reading comprehension issues all the time. You’re probably the most incoherent troll on here. At least MD can argue in a straight line. You must be a highschool student with your lack of coherent critical thinking skills.

Keep pounding that keyboard bro I can see you!!!

I guess he didn’t want to talk to me anymore… 😦

Listen. We aren’t going to reach an understanding, so this is the last comment I am going to write on the subject. I do agree with a lot of the things you wrote (or didn’t write for that matter).

I agree that Nigo probably does not design anything at Uniqlo – being such a big brand, he most likely approves someone else’s designs and/or tells them what he thinks should be changed. I also agree that Sk8thing played a vital part in Bape’s success. I agree that the majority of Fragment’s collaborations are lazy – only slapping a logo on a preexisting design. I also agree that both Nigo and Hiroshi are far from great designers.

The only thing I disagree with is claiming that neither of them are real designers. Nigo has Human Made, in the design process of which he is fully involved. At least that is what he stated on numerous occasions. Hiroshi has DENIM BY VANQUISH & FRAGMENT among others, which is a very nice label in my opinion. I mean, you can’t say that the Vetements’ dudes are amazing designers, while saying that these two are not even real ones. Simple as that.

First part I agree with you.

Okay, I’m not saying they aren’t designers. Yes, they pick fabrics and logos and probably have a slew of design assistants creating shit for them. They barely meet the required definition but are still considered designers.

The part where we began to disagree is the definition of being a “real designer” as in Jun Takahashi or any of their numerous industry peers that did tonnes of actual design work. You can bring up Fragment and Vanquish but as you mentioned, you know neither of those were really ground breaking or even anything beyond logo slapping. Yes, Nigo did do Human Made but again I know he’s not a strong designer I’m not even sure how much of that stuff he actually didn’t subcontract. My company has actually dealt with him directly before and he subcontracts a lot, it’s made me lose respect for him.

The part that irks me is these guys get a lot more art design credit than they really deserve. Nigo and Fujiwara were both excellent hustlers and brand leaders first, then secondly creatives. When they’re actually called up to design something for real, it’s often pretty half-assed or not spectacular, such as this collab with LV. That’s my main point, I’m sure you can see why I feel so strongly about this. I’m a Nigo and Fujiwara fan like any other guy on here but I gotta call out Fujiwara when even Kanye West did a more innovative job than him at LV.

“I got 3 sources, you got zero currently. ”

You have ZERO evidence that Nigo does not design ANY of his clothes. The only thing you have is a dysfunctional brain that struggles to understand that.

“Who am I? Irrelevant as usual but I’ve worked inside some of these companies so I know the difference between an actual creative director…”

Actually, it’s not irrelevant. And no, you obviously do not know the difference.

“Who the fuck are you again? You’re always too ashamed to say when speaking to me.”

I’m Stuci. Pleased to meet you.

“You must have a really shitty definition of what a real designer is if it doesn’t involve doing real collections and designing more than a logo, clearly.”

If you believe that neither of them have designed anything more than a logo, then this conversation is pointless.

“I graduated from a top 20 global university with honours I do not any issues reading shit from some teenage forum troll.”

Yes, you do. I am not a teenager, but nice try.

“Industry praise has no correlation with being a real designer and that is my point since day one. I don’t give a fuck how much praise they got, that doesn’t change their job title.”

You are right. It doesn’t change their job titles, which happen to include “designer” as well.

“Dude do you even know shit about this industry? For somebody who argues so much you sound so ignorant.”

I could say the same.

“And you argue in a non-linear fashion then accuse others of having reading comprehension issues all the time.”

Non-linear? I always reply according to how to person on the other side formulates their comments. You can clearly see it from the way I quote.

“You’re probably the most incoherent troll on here”

Yes, because every time I ask for proof, you all hide like mice. But sure, I am the troll.

“At least MD can argue in a straight line. You must be a highschool student with your lack of coherent critical thinking skills.”

Lol. Again, nice try.

“I guess he didn’t want to talk to me anymore… :(”

By now you should have understood that your “guessing” skills are quite bad.

P.S. I am baffled as to how you graduated from a top 20 global university with honours. Don’t you need to defend a thesis or something?

Leave a Reply

