Syndicate Responds to: VLONE Gives Slam Jam a Religious-Inspired Makeover for Its Recent Pop-Up Event

Screenshot_37.png

https://hypebeast.com/2016/9/vlone-pop-up-shop-slam-jam-milan

I’m not gonna flame this cuz all of the kids in line for this label are the same people who attend Asap concerts and buy Asap merch. Bari can ride Asap’s wave all he wants in an attempt to launch his own label, but unless he really steps it up like Virgil and starts putting out mad work, it’s always just going to be Asap’s buddy’s little gildan t-shirt project.

Good luck to Vlone with that. Reminds me of Heron Preston before he totally fell off, look how whack he is now.

I’m not gonna flame this cuz all of the kids in line for this label are the same people who attend Asap concerts and buy Asap merch. Bari can ride Asap’s wave all he wants in an attempt to launch his own label, but unless he really steps it up like Virgil and starts putting out mad work, it’s always just going to be Asap’s buddy’s little gildan t-shirt project.

Good luck to Vlone with that. Reminds me of Heron Preston before he totally fell off, look how whack he is now.

how do you know its Gildan

It’s either Gildan or another OEM t-shirt. And if it’s not, he should at least cut the garments in a way where it doesn’t look stock, that’s what proper brands do.

Maybe Vlone is Like Pyrex was to Off-White?

Just a stepping stone imo. It’s pretty obvious to me that it’s just merch at its current state.

That is possible but Virgil also ran RSVP gallery and did a masters in architecture. Nobody gives Virgil enough credit for having real design training and a shitload of retail management experience. Bari? Wtf has he done.

Honestly I think Bari is a dude from Harlem who was up on a lot of designer before anybody really paid attention to it. Raf, MM, RO….etc

Just a dude around the way know for fashion. He’s done some styling and is a part of ASAP. Has some respect in the fashion world in The US/London/Tokyo

He has a platform to do some shit and he’s taking advantage of it. You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take. I can’t knock him for that – even if I don’t fuck with it…..at least he’s doing something.

Imo

Yeah like at the end of the day I won’t knock a guy for putting out work and trying to do the best he can do. I just feel like nobody would pay attention to him if it wasn’t for the Asap mob. So I won’t give him credit as a designer. Raf, RO, and MM didn’t have no rapper entourage support them when they first started. Raf was working at an interior design store for god’s sake.

damn this is getting to u huh, lmao

I used to see brands like Vlone and think they’re so temporary. I’ve come to a realization that yeah they are, give em a few years and see what goes down. Let the universe sort it out for us.

I get u but, look if u would have told me off white would still be around …doing relatively well now a couple years I woulda looked at u like u had 3 heads, but hey, they are, point being some shits gonna pop/stick it n might not be for u, it’s nothin to trip about

Yeah but at least off-white in their first 3 collections were steadily improving. Virgil put in work to become a better designer, his trajectory was so much higher. I don’t see Bari doing that. Virgil has a masters of architecture and a passion for design, I don’t see Bari scaling to that level of commitment.

man not for nothing but off white is just as bad to me now as it was then minus a few specific collabs/pieces that don’t involve those obnixous signature stripes, vlone hasn’t even had a real season yet just pop ups based on a few pieces, and while im indifferent towards it, im not gonna shit on it either, its working for him

If you really look at Offwhite season 1, it was just printed streetwear. Move forward to season 2-3, the clothes quickly became really complicated and honestly most other American streetwear designers struggle to get to that level of complexity. I hated offwhite for a long time but now I can’t say shit because he made a conscious effort to improve. What you are looking at is Vlone’s first season, I highly doubt it’ll go from this to runway anytime soon. I’m not shitting on the kid, I just entirely question his potential as a designer.

I actually feel u, I don’t know if this moved beyond limited streetwear but hey u never know

Leave a Reply

